//
you're reading...
Poetry

The World Stopped Today [Inspired by…the weather outside!]

The world stopped today

At four o’clock
The great red whales
spat their last commuters
As the powdery barnacles at their fins
Calcified them for another working day
bank holidays and weekends not included

My stomach smiles inwardly
as my solemn brow turns from the porthole
sighing at the clock
Sneering five-fifteen
on a perpendicularly moustached face

The coffee in your palms
ebbing and flowing
with the tides outside
And spewing steam
like the smokestack won’t
Splashes onto the deck

Pulling on your smock
(and your trousers)
You hand me my wetsuit
and yank open the hatch
sea-spray whipping
your hair pink on your cheeks

You draw the zip up my back
the teeth bite my neck
Pretending not to see
the coral spreading across the neoprene
you tell me I’m a strong swimmer
that the iceburg is off-course
And with a kiss
(I smell the bile rising in your throat)
send me out
Swimming with the sharks.

Got inspired/bored by the snow that’s all over England today. An alternative stance I hope, but definitely got carried away with the sea metaphor sorry :(

About samshortstories

Posting largely unpolished creative writing as and when it comes to me to get feedback and hopefully improve as a writer through this. Hobbies include bouldering, scuba-diving and eating.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Tell me what you think...

